Peace Pole

Peace Pole Dedication

Sunday, September 25, 2005

Peace Pole with Monoliths
Artist: Joel Selmeier

Pathways to Peace
Landscape Architect: David Whittaker/Human Nature, Inc.

Construction and Installation
The David Vogel Landscape Company

The GAPP Peace Pole Project took shape September, 2005, as Dr. Racelle Weiman, director of The Center for Holocaust and Humanity Education, and Chip Harrod, president and CEO of the Washington-based National Conference for Community and Justice, helped dedicate a seven-piece granite sculpture and surrounding landscape design built to stand as a symbol that honors diversity and promotes inclusion. The sculpture is now part of Beech Acres Park in Anderson Township.

Native speakers and others proclaimed the 12 different translations of “May Peace Prevail on Earth” inscribed on six stone monoliths surrounding a smooth 9-ft. granite pole.

Ribbon-cutters, including GAPP honorary chairperson Jackie O’Brien, and individuals representing the Anderson Park District, GAPP and the Anderson Board of Trustees snipped colorful streamers that ran from the pole to each of the six monoliths.

A Deed of Gift was presented to the Anderson Park District’s Board president, Duffy Beischel.A sixth-grade soloist from Maddux Elementary School performed the song, “One Wish” to close the ceremony.

Guests were invited to view the sculpture, enjoy refreshments and browse the park’s “A Fair of the Arts” art show.

Click here to learn how to contribute to the Peace Pole Project fund. Help us complete our fund raising!

Click here to view a list of project contributors.

Thanks to these past and present GAPP members for serving on the Peace Pole Committee or helping with the functions planned by the committee:

  • Helen Armstrong
  • Keith Armstrong
  • Greg Baker
  • Judy Baker
  • Diana Becket
  • Nancy Brandt
  • Alan Brown
  • Christie Brown
  • Jan Briscoe
  • Kay Castle-Brinker
  • Donna Buckley
  • Cathy Curry
  • Kathy Filippi
  • Sam Gamble
  • Barbara Gardner
  • Arielle Goldberg
  • Sue Goldberg
  • Maggie Grotton
  • Mariko Hachiya
  • Barbarie Hill
  • Sharon Horn
  • Ginny Hunter
  • Sue Keefe
  • Lori Krafte, Esq.
  • Louise Lawarre
  • Ann Madhavan
  • Diane Method
  • Mary-Jane Newborn
  • Jackie O’Brien
  • Judy O’Brien
  • Mary Annette Pember
  • Barry Riehle
  • Cathy Rodner
  • Kevin Roberts, Esq.
  • Barbara Snowden
  • Sheila Speth
  • Pat Tekulve
  • Paul Vanderbosch
  • Harry VonBusch
  • Solomon Wilcots
  • Jim Yunker
  • Rev. Henry Zorn

Dedication Ceremony

Donna Buckley, Christie Brown, Sue Goldberg, Louise Lawarre, Barry Riehle, Kathleen Riehle, Cathy Rodner and Sheila Speth

Peace Pole Selection Committee
– approved three peace pole finalists for public voting

  • Jan Brown Checco
  • Troy Euton
  • Nadine Gelter
  • Barry Riehle
  • Peter Schwenkmeyer

Thanks to Turpin High School Key Club for tallying public vote.
Thanks for help with community outreach:

  • Anderson Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Anderson Park District Staff
  • Anderson Park District Board of Park Commissioners
  • Anderson Township Trustees
  • Forest Hills School District
  • Happen, Inc.
  • Riehle Communications, LLC

Thanks to the residents of Anderson Township, Mt. Washington, Newtown and western Clermont County!